My Woes on Education

I have remorsefully made regrettable choices on educational path. I am in early 20s now and yet, it is a stagnation (I learned a new word from my talkative friend.) . I have delayed two years of educational plan on account of those bitter and fruitless troubles between my teenagerhood and adulthood. I suppose to take “A” level (Some people are against my wishes) but found out about the opinions from the forum. From these posts in the forum, “A” level which might be worthless for the potential employment is just a certificate PAPER (most of A level students insisted that).

My reasons of taking A level is to enter University, to have an international recognition and to have a penance, that is equivalent to previously heartbroken and wasted times, at same time. Polytechnic Diploma is only valued by the local employment of the competitive companies in the rapid-pacing developed country. The meaning of “polytechnic” is a school or other institution in which instruction in technical subjects is given. In a comparison to private institutions, they provide many useful courses that many polytechnic have not adopted and the courses can be completed for less than one and half years unlike the three years courses included internship and holidays in polytechnic. One big disadvantage for me is the rejection on these with hearing impairment from the private education sector. Two reasons of dropping out from the diploma in business administration course is not suitable for my interest and to re-study what I used to work in an administrative office.

One case I have learnt from my friend, former polytechnic student is about his fallen career. He worked as a manager in government body but was retrenched during the bad economy. He is unable to find another similar position in private sectors. What are the reasons of failing to find the jobs in PRIVATE SECTORS? Many of the private companies (mostly SMEs – small and medium size) do not want to hire these candidates who worked once in the government body on account of the political systems and a fear of corruptions being revealed. Additionally, many of the private companies hire handicapped people regardless their education qualifications as they are able to hide the corruptions in “mis” communications. (oopz. I assume this passage is quite digressed from the topic.) 

Getting a degree must be once in my life – my main goal. Of course, I am currently juggling working and studying. Earning experiences and studying at same time might be beneficial for my age. Advantages of having a degree are the international recognitions, high chance to immigrate another country, to be a writer, high ability of joining an international organisation and an improvement of an intellect. For employment, it is pretty hard because most companies prefer candidates with a background of technical-based field to candidates with a background of academic. Let’s say 35% of managerial positions are degree holders only.

I recall one dentist with a doctrine certificate, whom I visited for check-up, wrote in broken English to me. I guess she spent mostly her times on patients’ teeth without brushing her redundant skills up. How worth is it? It is a complacency without an appreciation. I am still researching on it.

Leave a Reply

