English Language Myth’s First Post

I thought too much on correcting my own English Language errors. An idea appeared in my mind. I decided to create a new category as a learning hub. It is labelled as “English Language Myth”. Why is it called “English Language Myth”? Because sometimes we learn one English word or one English sentence from printed media to various books to conversations among people and sometimes but the English sentence turns to be incorrect grammatically, phonically or rhetorically. Secondly, we misunderstand or misinterpret what we read or listen the sentence.  We keep wondering what corrects the English Language errors,  if the sentence is correct or if we do not need to learn that sentence.

In my old secondary school day, my Secondary 3 English Language teacher taught us one non-sense thing. She explained to us that “whose” was used for more than one person. “The voters whose support the republic party are in the riot” Some of us, the students, were stunning over the error. I did not believe that my own resourceful teacher  believed the English Language teacher!!! Queer of my resourceful teacher. Thus, the correct sentence is ” The voters who support the republic party are in the riot”
Some English Language teachers from everywhere are not perfect in this subject. Even some lecturers have some English Language errors

From my conversation with two persons, I wanted to know the cause. One technician stated ” This electric wire is spoilt.” After he left, my friend puzzled over “spoilt” and explained what he was thinking to me. “Spoilt” is actually not in technical term but means that decay or damage foods or moods. My friend had studied in a degree biochemistry course and he understood the term of “spoilt”. Smart of him. Correction: “This electric wire is damaged or worn out.”  Be careful. “This electric fan is out of the order.” NOT ” This electric wire is out of the order.” Because “out of the order” relates to the machines that are not operating properly.

This category may help you to brush up the English Language or correct the errors. It is quite fun for me to write here. I may quote some questions from Yahoo Q&A, people’s conversations or blogs, printed media or somewhere.

Note: I use “English Language” instead of “English”. Why? E.g. “English Myth” what do you think? Does it mean that England has some English culture myths? No. I admitted that i typed those words at first place but realized that it sounded so odd and thus, corrected it.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Drascarlet on May 13, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Oh. i proofread this post 3 or 4 times to make sure it does not have any English Language error.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

